How to Get a Buyer Agent Rebate in NYC

Today we’re going to talk about how to actually get a buyer agent rebate in NYC.  It’s funny that this is such a prohibited topic, or at the very least seldom mentioned by your buyer agent friends.  I’ve spoken with so many agent friends in the past two decades, even after it’s been legalized in New York, about buying properties, and not one of them mentioned to me that you can get a buyer agent rebate in NYC.  Understandably, it is in their best interest not to tell me, but I am frankly a little hurt that nobody bothered to tell me or offered to provide me with such a rebate.  Understandably, I was a little hurt and upset so I turned to my real friend Google to find out who can give me the best deal for a buyer agent rebate in NYC.  It turns out that buyer agent rebates are possible in NYC although not very common.  None of the big brokerages openly offer it.  However, there are a few boutique brokerages that do offer buyer rebates in NYC.  Typically these are individual brokers who’d do exclusively this.  I was a bit hesitant about going this route, mainly because I did not want to work was someone who might face discrimination by more traditional listing brokers.  Buying a home, and actually securing the deal is very important to me.  I do not want a listing broker to somehow take the deal away from me because I have a buyer’s agent intermediating for me who is a discount broker.  The best way I found to avoid this problem is to have a traditional broker do the search for me, make the offer for me and then secretly give me a rebate on the back end.  Funny enough, there is actually a service in NYC that specifically does this.  The guys at Hauseit will pair you with a top local agent who is a traditional full service broker, who will treat you just like their regular client except that they will rebate you 1.5% of the home price back to you at closing.  I first thought this was too good to be true but it turns out it is possible, and with the competition these days more and broker brokers are signing up for this.  It seems like it’s inevitable that more brokers will turn to Hauseit as a means to secure deals on the buy side.  It was definitely an interesting experience and I personally think quite valuable for the traditional buyer agents doing it.  They all want to preserve their prima donna reputations within their little community. No one seems to want to openly admit they’ll actually provide a buyer agent rebate in NYC!  Make sure you read the rest of my blog before you begin your search.  The best way to survive real estate investing in NYC is to have lots of cash and knowledge!

Leave a comment